NASSCOM signs MoU with Blockchain Research Institute

NASSCOM signs MoU with Blockchain Research Institute for proper implementation of the technology in India.

Prajeet Nair Feb 21st 2018 A-A+

Wednesday morning witnessed a historic moment at the NASSCOM’s flagship event ILF WCIT 2018, where the chairman of NASSCOM, Raman Roy signed a MoU between NASSCOM and The Blockchain Research Institute, tweeted the official handle of NASSCOM.

The MoU was signed at the presence of CEO Capgemini Canada, Sanjay Tugnait and Sangeeta Gupta, VP for NASSCOM. The MoU was signed for the purpose of spreading awareness and training of blockchain use in the country.

The institute will focus on reskilling the blockchain technology users and will help them to implement it in their firm. The Blockchain Research Institute, founded in 2017, conducts the definitive investigation into blockchain use cases, opportunities and implementation challenges.

Talking about the MoU signed with Blockchain Research of Institute, the Chairman of NASSCOM, Raman Roy said, "Delighted to be pushing the envelope in Blockchain research in the country through this MoU. We need to understand that it's not a plug and play we can do tomorrow but there is huge potential in developing this."

On account of the MoU signed with NASSCOM, Don Tapscott, co-founder of the Blockchain Research Institute said, "There are 2 parts to bringing this to life -1. We need to create an awakening in India, showcase the power of Blockchain and we can do this by looking at incentives/discounts to organizations who do this. That's phase 1."

He added, “Phase 2 and part 2 is where we'd like to build a Blockchain institute in India which is actually building stuff and making things happen.”

Talking about, how he came up with the idea of a partnership between Blockchain Research Institute and NASSCOM, Sanjay Tugnait, CEO Capgemini said, “India being the leader in the knowledge industry can take the lead in Blockchain. This came to at night and I realized I need to make this happen."

Edited By : Vaishnavi J Desai